Give our friendly team a call [07] 3180 1840

Behind the microscope: Dr Viecelli

Wednesday 10 August 2016

Meet the researcher: Dr Andrea Viecelli

Research Project: Towards improving outcomes that matter to people on haemodialysis (HD).

Doctor Andrea Viecelli, nephrologist and researcher

Where are you from? Where did you grow up?

I was born in Zurich, Switzerland and moved to Australia in 2010. I lived in Perth for five years before moving to Brisbane for my PhD and my last year of training in nephrology.

Do you work in a clinical or research setting? And what made you want to get into the work you do?

I work as an academic clinician and work 0.7 full time equivalent (FTE) as a transplant nephrologist and 0.3 FTE research, although the latter is usually closer to 0.7 FTE as well 😊. I love the mix of research and clinical practice and this is truly my dream job. Looking after patients with kidney disease and driving research to improve outcomes that are considered most important by patients and their caregivers.

Outside of work what do you like to do? Any hobbies, sports or special interests you're involved in?

I spend most of my time with my family, I have a two and a half year old girl, Jasmine and a six year old boy Nicolai. We have a big garden and I love spending time with my kids and doing some gardening. I always cycle to work and when there is a bit of time left in the day, I enjoy going for a walk with my girlfriends but this is rare these days… kids come first! We are fortunate to have a large pizza oven and regularly host parties for work friends, research teams and our neighbours. Once the kids are a bit older, I look forward to taking up the cello and piano again.

If you had to recommend one book to read what would it be?

Sophie and the world.

Who is your favourite musician/or band?

I'm old fashioned - The Beatles.

If you could invite three people to a dinner party, anyone in the world, who would they be and why?

I would love to fly out my mum, my dad and my sister from Switzerland over to have dinner at our place. I miss spending time with them and COVID19 certainly won't make this happen for a while unfortunately.

DONATE HERE